Vanity is my favorite sin!

a southern belle's spot in the big city

Webby: Polyvore

“what’s in your bag” posts are always awfully popular and i’ve always wanted to join the bandwagon, but alas, my camera skillz (yes, with a Z!) are not at par (yet) with the seasoned bloggers so i havent been able to post any of it.

so just imagine how tickled pink i am when i found out about this little site called Polyvore which allows me to create sets just like a digital pinboard! i’ve always done the corkboard-with-magazine-clippings thing, only i take it to another level b printing the items in photo-paper. i’ve only stopped doing it since i’ve had the “save-mother-earth” kick and let’s face it, the corkboard-slash-magazine-clippings aren’t exactly friends of the environment.

with polyvore, i get to re-enjoy my love for corkboard pinning and i get to be mother earth’s warrior still! polyvore is best paired with a pinterest account, and i honestly discovered polyvore because of pinterest.

also, with polyvore, i get to bring out the fashionista in me (which isn’t very often, i grant you that.) but it’s a good training ground and i get to learn. i actually got a few of my girlfriends hooked on polyvore too, and when asked about what exactly is polyvore, this is what i tell them: “it’s like playing dress-up with barbie dolls,— except there is no barbie doll, and you get to dabble with all the high end labels, and when i say all, i mean ALL the brands” so just imagine me like a five-year old made to run loose in a candy-store. except, i am a twenty-something made to run loose in a virtual mall of pradas and LVs and what-not.

Incidentally, this is the first ever “set” i’ve created.

Polyvore has also motivated me to lose weight. baby’s gotta look good in those threads! altho that may involve me saving pictures of the dresses and bringing it to my personal taylor (momma can’t afford those labels—yet!)

one downside is that it doesn’t have an iOS app, and i can’t create sets via my iPhone or iPad. i do all my sets using my trusty MBP. (am an apple fan, sue me.)

according to wikipedia: Polyvore is a fashion social-commerce website that allows users to assemble sets of clothing from the website’s database of items. Polyvore was selected for Time Magazine’s list of 50 best websites of 2011.

so there. to my corkboard lovin’ fashionista friends and readers, i hope you guys enjoy polyvore! XD

sets are created from my polyvore account and copied via my pinterest account, all linked.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Webby: Polyvore

  1. Pingback: BagRaid: Opera Edition! « Vanity is my favorite sin!

  2. Alias M. on said:

    I also love Polyvore but I haven’t logged on for more than a year now. You’ve described it perfectly! – “it’s like playing dress-up with barbie dolls,— except there is no barbie doll, and you get to dabble with all the high end labels, and when i say all, i mean ALL the brands”

    ” just imagine me like a five-year old made to run loose in a candy-store. except, i am a twenty-something made to run loose in a virtual mall of pradas and LVs and what-not” That’s how I feel too when I’m in the site (except that I’m a thirty-something :) )

  3. goddessella on said:

    hello Alias M! thanks for dropping by my site. XD

    polyvore is really something, right? :) because of it, i have rediscovered my inner fashionista! i hope you get the chance to log back in to polyvore and let’s share our created sets! XD

  4. Pingback: App Review: Polyvore’s iOS App | Vanity is my favorite sin!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 394 other followers

