Vanity is my favorite sin!

a southern belle's spot in the big city

Booklust: James Potter Series by G. Norman Lippert

Cards on the table, I haven’t finished the trilogy yet but am anxious to blog about it! 🙂 I’ve finished the first book (James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing) and am about 30percent into the second book (James Potter and the Curse of the GateKeeper). Not that I’m not planning to finish the trilogy, but I’m just eager to blog about it and share this wonderful trilogy with you guys! :). With everything going on in my life right now, I actually just have a few stolen interludes with my fictions and god knows how long it’ll take me to finish the trilogy. I can’t wait that long to share this with you guys! 🙂 also, unless I am extremely disappointed with the second and third installments, I will not bother to write a follow up review (or unless am bored enough by then to write a follow up.)

The James Potter Trilogy (as of now) penned by G. Norman Lipperts is an unofficial and unauthorized continuation of the Famous Harry Potter Series by Ms. J.K. Rowling. It started as a fanfiction and Rowling originally opposed its publication but approved of it later, after Lippert gave her a copy of the first book. As far as I could remember, Rowling has been a very vocal supporter of the fanfiction community and even encourage harry potter fanfictions. I guess, so long as Lippert doesn’t directly profit off of the fanfiction he’s in the clear. Presently, all three books are available online for free and in a multitude of formats for your ebook readers. (I downloaded an epub version for my ipad, a mobi version for le kindle and a pdf for my mbp, all for free!) I am also aware that Lippert is currently working on a fourth installment. Am looking forward to that as well! 🙂

As you guys know, a few weeks back, I wrote a very scathing review about another fanfiction that went mainstream and became very popular (read: fifty shades trilogy) and I’ve been very outspoken in that post about my opinion on fanfiction quality. However, Lippert has changed my mind and has proven to me that hasty generalizations would make me eat my words someday. Lippert’s series is not so bad, (read: BLOODY BRILLIANT if I may say so myself) considering tis a fanfiction! In my humble opinion and as far as fanfictions go, Lippert’s offering is very well-written and a pleasure to read. To tell you honestly, the quality of writing and the skill employed by Lippert is very superior and up to standard with that of big name authors with big name proofreaders and publishers.

So far, I really like what I’ve read. Lippert has succeeded in writing the old gang in their character. Honestly, what throws me off of most fanfictions is the fact that most of them portray the original cast very out of character. (e.g. a Draco Malfoy that is cheesy and romantic… I, uhh, so totally did not romanticize him in my own fanfiction. (Sidenote: only those who have read my Fifty Shades review will get this), but he’s also made the series his own, if that makes sense. It’s a very interesting mix, and I bet most Harry Potter fans would love it too.

There are also a few contradictions and plotholes with the original series but hey, tis a fanfiction after all. Lippert is still not Rowling (altho he can fool most readers) and even Rowling wrote a lot of plot holes in her own series!

One thing that bothered me is how Lippert wrote the series as an american with american dialogues. It’s kinda disconcerting how these british characters sound so american most of the time. Their dialogues bore no distinction to the american characters introduced in the series. I dunno if this will bother most of you. I haven’t read the american version of the series yet (I was living in Hong Kong when I first discovered the HP series and the ones sold in HK are the british versions. I’ve always made the conscious choice to get the british versions from HK even after I moved back here) I am aware that the american version uses words like “sweaters” instead of “jumpers” and “sorcerer” instead of “philosopher” etc. So I am not entirely sure if the american version of Harry Potter like the ones sold here in the philippines sounded less british than the british version, if you know what I mean. Obviously, G. Norman Lippert is an american author and as such his writing will sound american, but I just found it kinda weird to hear(read) harry potter’s son with an american accent. Lol

That’s not such a big deal to me tho. All in all, I luuuurrrrrvvvvveeeedddd the book(s) altho I would’ve loved it even more if I was reading J.K. Rowling’s official spinoff/continuation of the Harry Potter Series.

I would normally post the links to the James Potter Series by Lippert but am posting via email and I don’t know how to do that yet so until I figure out how to hyperlink, lord google is your friend.

PS I also don’t know how to add tags and categories via email post. When I get hold of my laptop, I will add the necessary tags and categories.

Toodles. 🙂
Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld

 

UPDATE:

i’ve added the necessary tags and categories now.

also, you can grab a copy of the James Potter trilogy by G. Norman Lippert by CLICKING HERE.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Booklust: James Potter Series by G. Norman Lippert

  1. Hester on said:

    In my opinion, the stories (and the writing) just keeps getting better so I am sure you will love the other two (and the upcoming fourth book).

    WElcome to the club!

  2. how much for the first book James potter and the elders crossing??

Leave a Reply

