Vanity is my favorite sin!

a southern belle's spot in the big city

On Hurricane Haiyan/Typhoon Yolanda

Recently, my home country has been ravaged by the strongest typhoon to ever hit the Earth in history. The whole world has followed the disaster that is hurricane Haiyan or locally known (in the Philippines) as super typhoon Yolanda.

An aerial view of a coastal town, devastated by super Typhoon Haiyan, in Samar province in central Philippines November 11, 2013.

An aerial view of a coastal town, devastated by super Typhoon Haiyan, in Samar province in central Philippines November 11, 2013.

First, I am grateful that my family and loved ones live far away from the affected areas and are safe and dry,  but still, the effects of Haiyan has been completely devastating to them.

I feel helpless too because I am faraway from home and I could not do anything to help. my family and I have donated already, but I still feel as if I could’ve done more. Normally, had I been in the Philippines, I would’ve been in the frontlines of relief operations. I would’ve been there on Day 1, packing relief goods onsite. I have travelled far and wide in the Philippines to do several similar relief operations in the past too. Not being there in the frontlines right now has been killing me, and being continents away has been the hardest. I have been monitoring the news ever since.

Also, the outpour of support and love from people all over the world has just been overwhelming. I’m sure you’ve all heard about all these different countries and international celebrities, businessmen, and basically normal people from all over the world giving what they can to help rebuild the devastated areas. these has been circulated on international news, social media and other avenues. Anderson Cooper of CNN even went to the Philippines to do a special report! just the outpour of love and support has made me grateful.

The Filipino people, including myself, cannot find enough words to express our gratitude

The Filipino people, including myself, cannot find enough words to express our gratitude

On a personal level, I have just been touched and engulfed by the love and concern i have been getting. all my new international friends from school and my neighbours, and people i have recently met here in Sweden have really gone out of their way to make sure that my family back home were safe. My professors in class have asked me repeatedly for updated on the situation in Tacloban. Foreign friends have been sending me facebook messages, emails,texts and calls just to express their concern and support. Some have even stopped me on the streets! Even strangers. I have posted this on facebook a couple of weeks ago, that 3 men were chatting me and my friend up, and when they found out that I am from the Philippines and instantly the concern was there. they asked me how my family was doing back home, even though we are practically strangers. Most of these people have pledged donation for the typhoon victims and for that I am extremely grateful.

And I came upon the realisation that I may not be in the volunteer frontlines right now, but in my own little way I am helping, not only by way of donations, but also by helping to raise awareness for the typhoon victims, keeping the word  out and getting pledges from the people i meet here.

Should you wish to donate, please check out these avenues:

YolandaReliefAid

My faith in humanity has been officially restored.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

